A Wandering Thread (a text of Arthur Taboul translated by Vadim Bystritski)

.

Finesse arrives from beyond the fog. A threat is falling from the sky. Let’s follow it with our eyes. A cloud hides its other end. There’s probably nothing there. Anyway, it’s pleasant to follow a suspended thread somewhere, to get lost up there and then come down.

First thing first, I’ve never seen this thing before. It could be because I haven’t been paying attention. So, I’ve been wondering if with this lack of diligence I haven’t been missing occasions to watch a thread fly in the sky attached to nothing but a cloud, that is to say precipitation. 

Then I’ve been watching the gray mass roll like a lackadaisical beast. Almost elephantine. Now the rain doesn’t bother me. I face it without defiance, without challenge. Without indecency either, because it makes me happy. 

So something has been washed down. I am going back to my car that I’ve left on the side of the road to follow better, without any kind of a screen, without a windshield, just with my eyes, a wandering thread.

.

.     

Un Fil se promène

.

Finesse s’en vient par-delà le brouillard. Un fil tombe du ciel. Suivons-le du regard. Un nuage masque ce qu’il y a à son bout. Peut-être n’y a-t-il rien ? C’est agréable, de toute façon, de suivre le fil suspendu à on ne sait quoi ; se perdre dans les hauteurs, et décliner. 

Premièrement, c’est la première fois que je vois ça. C’est peut-être une question d’attention. Je me demande, du coup, si par le passé je n’ai pas manqué quelque occasion de voir un fil s’élever dans les airs sans rien au bout q’un nuage, qu’une précipitation. Ensuite, je regarde fixement ma masse grisâtre qui chavire comme une bête nonchalante. Une sorte d’éléphanteau. La pluie, aujourd’hui, ne me dérange pas. Je lui fais face. Sans affront. Sans défi. Mais sans pudeur non plus et ça me rend heureux. Quelque chose est lavé et je retourne à ma voiture que j’avais laissé sur le bord de la route pour suivre du regard, à l’œil nu – sans écran, sans pare-brise -, le fil abandonné qui se promène.