Grass Field (a text of Christian Bobin translated by Vadim Bystritski)

.

I don’t believe that in nature there are moments of solitude comparable to the one we sometimes go through. Every now and then, when seated at my desk, I find myself exasperated during my interminable conversations with the grassfield outside my window. I look but I can’t hear anything because the window is closed, yet even if it were open, no noise would reach me, although I see quite well the grass blades move. Their movement seems to be oiled by light. Had I the talent of seeing in depth, this talent I often find lacking, I would have seen, this part I know, that every blade is different from its neighbor. They are always taken in by some event, the event of breeze or rain, the event of light, which all have who knows what kind of agenda, the day that leaves, the cold that arrives. Will there be another day? The field is full of hundreds of questions and is not pressed for answers.When I write with this grassfield in mind, I feel in the presence of the greatest possible competitor, in front of the master-writer, the greatest poet ever, albeit without a name or face, but the one who toils day and night. 

.   

Je ne pense pas que la nature connaisse la solitude terrible dans laquelle nous pouvons nous trouver. Je suis parfois soufflé par ma conversation incessante du pré qui fait face à la fenêtre devant laquelle j’écris. Je regarde, je n’entends rien, la fenêtre est fermée, et quand bien même serait-elle ouverte, aucune rumeur ne me parviendrait, mais je vois très bien l’agitation des brins. Ils sont comme huilés par la lumière. Si j’avais le talent de regarder à fond – un talent qui me manque trop souvent –, je verrais, parce que je le sens, que chaque brin est différent du brin voisin. Ils sont sans arrêt pris dans un événement. Dans l’événement de la brise, de la pluie, dans l’événement des lumières qui vont, qui viennent, qui s’affairent on ne sait trop à quoi, du jour qui s’en va, du froid qui remonte de la terre. Est-ce qu’il y aura encore un autre jour ?

Le pré est rempli de mille questions qui sont sans impatience d’une réponse. Quand j’écris avec la vision de ce pré, je suis devant le plus grand concurrent qui soit. Je suis devant un maître écrivant, un de plus grands poètes, qui n’a pas de nom, pas de visage, mais qui travaille jour et nuit.